Ode to San Francisco Hipsters

6 Nov

My inner Hipster shinning through.

San Francisco has a lot of hipsters. The entire Mission District is nothing but hipsters and they always attach themselves to the one thing I love the most – art, so they are inescapable. The Mission district is like the Brooklyn of California and my art hub. They are hard to be around because they’re assholes.  They think that their “independent” way of thinking is progressive when in fact, it’s trendy because, well, being a hipster is trendy. So, being a hipster is an oxymoron – completely and utterly contradictory. I spent 9 years in Art school and was surrounded by them and their hateful glares and their snotty dispositions. I got tired of seeing skinny man chest (from both men and women) and saggy butt skinny jeans. Last Friday I worked a very cool event at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and was surrounded by them. I wanted to smack them all. Why can’t they just be pleasant? Why’s it so hard to NOT be dismissive and rude? Dear Hipster douche, don’t you know I could shove my fist down your throat easily if I wanted to?

What I said above about hipsters is not very nice, now is it? However, I have a confession….

I myself am a hypocrite because I am a closeted hipster.

Yep! There I said it. I don’t look like a hipster, but I still have the same “independent” and “non-conformist” attitude that’s a bunch of bull.  I love fashion and like buying from independent designers, and have a disdain for anything popular. I have not listened to mainstream radio in years. If you saw my Spotify playlist, guarantee you would roll your eyes because I listen to hipster music (Indie rock). My best feature is my brain and my hair. I really believe I have great taste. I love to travel, but hate fancy hotels preferring couch surfing or staying in cool “bed and breakfast” type places. My honeymoon will be in Morocco….This is only the tip of the iceberg folks. There’s more, but I won’t go into it.

Unlike a typical hipster, however, I am friendly and non-judgmental. Not everything is self-motivated in my life, I’m not rail thin, and I still enjoy the pop music of my childhood (and I still rock out to Spice Girls)…so there!

What’s on me…

Hair – Lelutka – Isha

Earrings – (Yummy) – Floral Dangle Earrings (Gold)

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The Puppeteer & KoKoLoReS

Second Life fashion, photography and stuff

Pearls & Pistols

Linx & Rio .. with their fancy blog.

Honour's Post Menopausal View (of Second Life)

(The Second Life World is a trademark of Linden Research, Inc.)

† fashion fucked †

lustful deed . zombie biscuit

Next Pointless Trend

Every generation laughs at the old fashions, but follows religiously the new.

Simply Dou

I'm simply nothing more than what my name implies. Welcome to my world.

jillnarstrom

4u2nv Styling

So... Buttons!

Some stuff to look at.

SL Blogger Support

A Second Life Blogging Support Blog for the Masses!

The Ego Co.

Event Management in Second Life

Jax Aster

SecondLife's Closet

icingonthekake

Second Life decor finishing touches and more - aka ICING ON THE KAKE! \o/

slslades

Mandy Slade's blog

offbeat + inspired

living creatively.

I Love Green Inspiration

fashion blog with an eye on everything inspired by nature

